Which is the First Political Party in Nigeria?

Nigeria is a country running a democratic multi-party system. The county has always been politically woke even before the declaration of independence in 1960 – the first political party being formed years before clearly justifies the fact.

Taking advantage of the Clifford Constitution in 1914, the first political party was formed by Hebert Macaulay in 1923. In this article, we’ll briefly discuss the first political party in Nigeria, the current political condition of the country, coupled a list of active political parties in the country.

Which is the First Political Party in Nigeria?

The Nigerian National Democratic Party is the first political party in Nigeria. It was formed by Olayinka Hebert Samuel Heelas Badmus Macaulay in 1923. He was a Nigerian political activist, engineer, and Journalist who studied in England with sponsorship from the colonial administration.

NNDP initially had its headquarters in Lagos; their first election was the 1922 elections for the Lagos Legislative Council. Although their first election technically happened in 1922, it became an official political party in 1923. While that’s the case, the party won all the seats in the 1923, 1928, and 1933 elections.

List of Registered Political Parties in Nigeria

As stated early, Nigeria is a politically woke country – we’ve seen some parties getting reformed, and new ones being established in every political era. Today, we have 18 parties registered with the Independent National Electoral Commission, and over 70 unregistered parties. Although we’re just about reaching triple digits in terms of party counts in Nigeria, less than 10 of the 18 registered parties actually have their members on political seats.

Meanwhile, most issues of unregistered parties occur as a result of these parties failing to satisfy the minimum requirements set by INEC. The Independent National Electoral Commission had to deregister 74 political parties after the 2019 elections. However, most of these unregistered parties are still working as political organizations since they’re still contesting the deregistration case in court.

List of Registered Political Parties in Nigeria

  1. Accord Party – AP 
  2. Action Alliance – AA 
  3. Action Democratic Party – ADP 
  4. Action Peoples Party – APP 
  5. African Action Congress – AAC 
  6. African Democratic Congress – ADC 
  7. All Progressive Congress – APC 
  8. All Progressive Grand Alliance – APGA 
  9. Allied Peoples Movement – APM 
  10. Boot Party – BP 
  11. Labour Party – LP 
  12. National Rescue Movement – NRM 
  13. New Nigeria Peoples Party – NNPP 
  14. Peoples Democratic Party – PDP 
  15. Peoples Redemption Party – PRP 
  16. Social Democratic Party – SDP 
  17. Young Progressive Party – YPP 
  18. Zenith Labour Party – ZLP

List of Unregistered Political Parties in Nigeria

  1. Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP)
  2. Advanced Allied Party (AAP)
  3. Advanced Congress of Democrats (ACD)
  4. Advanced Nigeria Democratic Party (ANDP)
  5. Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA)
  6. African People Alliance (APA)
  7. All Blended Party (ABP)
  8. All Grand Alliance Party (AGAP)
  9. All Grassroots Alliance (AGA)
  10. Alliance National Party (ANP)
  11. Alliance Of Social Democrats (ASD)
  12. Alliance for Democracy (AD)
  13. Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN)
  14. Alliance for a United Nigeria (AUN)
  15. Allied Congress Party Of Nigeria (ACPN)
  16. Alternative Party of Nigeria (APN)
  17. Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP)
  18. Change Advocacy Party (CAP)
  19. Change Nigeria Party (CNP)
  20. Coalition For Change (C4C)
  21. Communist Party of Nigeria (CPN)
  22. Congress of Patriots (COP)
  23. Democratic Alternative (DA)
  24. Democratic People’s Party (DPP)
  25. Democratic People’s Congress (DPC)
  26. Democratic Socialist Movement (DSM)
  27. Freedom And Justice Party (FJP)
  28. Fresh Democratic Party (FDP)
  29. Grassroots Development Party Of Nigeria (GDPN)
  30. Green Party of Nigeria (GPN)
  31. Hope Democratic Party (HDP)
  32. Independent Democrats (ID)
  33. Justice Must Prevail Party (JMPP)
  34. KOWA Party (KP)
  35. Legacy Party of Nigeria (LPN)
  36. Liberation Movement (LM)
  37. Mass Action Joint Alliance (MAJA)
  38. Masses Movement of Nigeria (MMN)
  39. Mega Party Of Nigeria (MPN)
  40. Modern Democratic Party (MDP)
  41. Movement for the Restoration and Defence of Democracy (MRDD)
  42. Movement of the People (MOP)
  43. National Action Council (NAC)
  44. National Conscience Party (NCP)
  45. National Democratic Liberty Party (NDLP)
  46. National Interest Party (NIP)
  47. National Unity Party (NUP)
  48. New Generations Party of Nigeria (NGP)
  49. New Progressive Movement (NPM)
  50. Nigeria Community Movement Party (NCMP)
  51. Nigeria Democratic Congress Party (NDCP)
  52. Nigeria Elements Progressive Party (NEPP)
  53. Nigeria For Democracy (NFD)
  54. Nigeria People’s Congress (NPC)
  55. People for Democratic Change (PDC)
  56. People’s Progressive Party (PPP)
  57. People’s Democratic Movement (PDM)
  58. People’s Party of Nigeria (PPN)
  59. People’s Trust (PT)
  60. Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA)
  61. Providence People’s Congress (PPC)
  62. Re-Build Nigeria Party (RBNP)
  63. Reform and Advancement Party (RAP)
  64. Restoration Party of Nigeria (RP)
  65. Save Nigeria Congress (SNC)
  66. Social Democratic Mega Party (SDMP)
  67. Socialist Party of Nigeria (SPN)
  68. Sustainable National Party (SNP)
  69. United Democratic Party (UDP)
  70. United Nigeria People’s Party (UNPP)
  71. United Patriots (UP)
  72. United People’s Congress (UPC)
  73. United Progressive Party (UPP)
  74. Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN)
  75. We The People Nigeria (WTPN)
  76. Yes Electorates Solidarity (YES)
  77. Young Democratic Party (YDP)
  78. Youth Party (YP)

Leave a Comment